Cahill Logo

Richard A. Stieglitz Jr.

Richard A. Stieglitz Jr.


Download vCard

Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP
32 Old Slip
New York, NY 10005



  • Washington University School of Law, J.D., 2003
  • Hamilton College, B.A., 2000, magna cum laude, mathematical department honors


  • New York

Richard A. Stieglitz Jr. is a member of Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP's Bankruptcy & Restructuring and Bankruptcy Litigation practice areas.

Rich advises debtors, lenders and other creditors, as well as potential investors in and purchasers of distressed assets, equity sponsors, senior management and directors in commercial Chapter 11 cases and other restructuring matters. Rich has represented Chapter 11 debtors in the SP Newsprint Co., Charlie Brown’s Steakhouse, Trico Marine Services, Orleans Homebuilders and Aurora Oil & Gas bankruptcies. Rich also represented agents and/or lenders (including DIP and exit lenders) in the Mallinckrodt (as revolving loan lender in the 2023 bankruptcy and as exit lender in the 2022 bankruptcy), Wesco/Incora, Starry, Intelsat, American Commercial Lines, Sears, David's Bridal, iHeartMedia, PES Holdings, 21st Century Oncology, Caesars, Jobson Medical, Cengage, ResCap, and Oreck Vacuum bankruptcy cases.

Rich has been recognized in The Best Lawyers in America for his expertise in Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, has been named to Lawdragon’s list of the “500 Leading U.S. Bankruptcy & Restructuring Lawyers” since 2020 and is recognized as Highly Regarded in the area of restructuring and insolvency by IFLR1000. Rich has also been named an "Outstanding Young Restructuring Lawyer" in 2011 and 2013 by Turnaround & Workouts and has been recognized by Chambers USA. He speaks on current bankruptcy trends and has also written extensively on bankruptcy subjects.

Rich is a member of the American Bankruptcy Institute and the Turnaround Management Association and was chosen to serve on the inaugural Next Generation Committee for the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges in 2011.